Ashtanga Yoga, which literally means “eight-limbed yoga” is a system outlined in the yoga sutras attributed to the ancient sage K. Pattabhi Jois during the 20th century
The yoga sutras are general guidelines for spiritual growth through right living, and are universal. They are not beliefs, but methods that can be tested by each practitioner to see for himself or herself if they actually have the benefits that they claim.

The sutras consist of eight limbs or requirements to achieve full Self-realization.
YAMAS – Behaviuor
NIYAMAS – Life style development
ASANA – Yoga posturs
PRANAYAMA – Control of prana
PRATYAHARA – Control of senses
DHARANA – Concentration
DHYANA – Meditation
SAMADHI – Realization

Bird of Paradise Ashtanga classes will always be guided by the teacher and all students working together at the same time. Traditionally Ashtanga is practiced daily with one rest day. Full and new moon should also be taken as rest days, and women may also refrain from practicing during menstruation.

Ashtanga yoga classes are often taught in the “Mysore style.” practitioners memorize the same sequence sequence tof asana, then individually work through the sequence during the class. The teacher will adjust and support, rather than guiding the individual’s practice. Students set their own pace and goals with their ability, but practice in the company of other students and with the encouragement of their teacher. They should master each pose in the sequence before they move on to the next.
Ashtanga yoga is considered a vigorous, orderly practice and, as such, is more suited to students who want a dynamic and rigorous yoga practice.